All 50 US States have laws setting the blood alcohol level for a DUI at 0.08% BAC.
There are actually three different legal limits for blood alcohol level:
- 0.08% (Driver over 21 without prior DUI arrest)
- 0.04% (Commercial Driver)
- 0.01% (Drivers under 21 years of age and drivers on probation for DUI)
There are over 200,000 DUI arrests in California annually.
97% of DUIs in California are charged as misdemeanors, while 3% of DUIs in California are charged as felonies.
Males comprise approximately 80% of all California DUI arrests. However, the proportion of females convicted of DUI in California has risen consistently every year since 1989.
The average age of a California DUI offender is 30 years old.
The highest percentage of drivers that test positive for blood alcohol levels of .08 or higher is drivers aged 21 to 24 (35%).
The average BAC level of a convicted California DUI offender is approximately 0.16%.
The fine alone for a first time California DUI conviction is $1,500 to $2,000. The fines for a second California DUI conviction can cost as much as $2,800.
Source: California Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs